Day 146: May 25, 2017

 

Done! And I’m happy with the ending!

Well, okay, not really. In the last three paragraphs alone I added about two hundred words. I left it, knowing I’ll cut it in the next revision. It’s a bunch of unnecessary crap that I unloaded in a flurry of excitement. It doesn’t work at all. But I’m aware it doesn’t and that’s fine. There are also some emotional gems in the last chapter (I think anyway), and I trust my editorial instincts so it will get addressed later.

Whew. My family is going out of town for the weekend, so I might just get started on the first few chapters while I have some time alone.

I can’t believe how satisfying this is. I’m extremely happy with how this story turned out, considering its meager beginnings. I have ideas for how to strengthen the characters in the next revision, as well as some thematic opportunities to explore. A sigh and a pat on the back.

Words written today: 315
Total for 2017: 53,285

KINGDOM
Revision today: 1 chapters
Revision total: 82 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 124,517 (+15,665 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

