Day 145: May 24, 2017

It was a tougher day writing. Something about the scenes wasn’t jiving. I went through one four times before sticking with a semblance of mediocrity. I’ll tackle it next time. Not that it was terrible, but I couldn’t quite get the dialogue I wanted. My mood simply wasn’t in the right place.

The story is at a point where Daron and Aubrey are together, so their dueling POVs is a change in how I have to write. I think that’s part of the issue. Not that I don’t enjoy, and that it doesn’t provide some interesting dramatic dynamics. It is, however, a shift in how most of the book is written, so I have to be subtle and not make too obvious a tonal break.

I’ll be done tomorrow! One more chapter! I’m excited to take a break this weekend and start fresh next week again. My word count keeps creeping up though. I hope I can cut down on the next revision. I know that won’t be easy. I’m a writer: I love my words.

Words written today: 483
Total for 2017: 52,970

KINGDOM
Revision today: 2 chapters
Revision total: 81 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 124,202 (+15,350 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

