Day 143: May 22, 2017

I had my long awaited Skype call with Sione Aeschliman today. Two things first off: one, Sione is one of the kindest people you could ever work with; two, Sione is one of the most thoughtful people you could ever work with.

Now, what I had originally thought was a critique that was not helpful from her, pertaining to the ending of the book, turned out to be spot on helpful. We talked through the last few paragraphs of the book. I gave some background details she didn’t have from her reading, we talked through what I was intending and came out with something much richer. There was also discussion about another, earlier scene in the book that I can do a fairly easy (though not that easy) revision on that will it much stronger.

All in all, I was extremely impressed by her focus on my material, her inquisitiveness, and thoughtful discussion. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for editing help. She made me feel like a professional.

After that, I blasted through four chapters, though they were somewhat easier to tackle after the more complicated ones I have been dealing with. These were somewhat cool down chapters after build up and climax. As I’ve said before, it’s a bit more complicated than that, but still basically holds.

Words written today: 563
Total for 2017: 52,175

KINGDOM
Revision today: 4 chapters
Revision total: 77 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 123,407 (+14,555 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

