Day 139: May 18, 2017

I got little done today. Yes, one chapter in the “books”, so to speak. But what a slog. It wasn’t even that hard of a chapter. It’s just that some days work and life and stress and doubt and everything crushes the will to think much less write. Days like today make me worry I’ll have the perseverance to see this whole thing through.

I really believe this book is ten times better than the last book I wrote, which was ten times better than the one before that. The feedback I’ve gotten has been fantastic. My own gut tells me this is quality work. But I’ve worked alone, as writers do, in the dark, alone with my own fantasies. That means I’ve worked not only alone with my own fictional fantasies but with my daydreams of being published and acclaimed and recognized. All I really want is the time to write more, write often, to spend my time focused on writing.

Days like today I feel like it’s a hobby I should shelve and stop daydreaming. Life doesn’t really pander to daydreams. The older the daydreamer is, too, the less life is kind.

Words written today: 74
Total for 2017: 51,612

KINGDOM
Revision today: 1 chapters
Revision total: 73 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 122,844 (+13,992 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

