Day 138: May 17, 2017

Fuck! What a complicated pair of chapters. You would think that building up to and finalizing the climax would be the hard part. But no, here the denouement has its own set of rock-strewn, dangerous pathways, and that’s not even the right way of putting it. I risk giving some things away, however, by going too in depth. Suffice to say that motivations and reactions to the climactic scenes became…tricky.

I wrote and rewrote both the chapters several times. They swirl back on each other in odd ways. Even when done and mostly satisfied, I knew I would have to revisit in the last revision, after going through the entire book again, to get a better feel for the entire character arc(s). It all mostly feels right. It all mostly feels emotionally wrenching. It is definitely an odd psychological place to be, by intention. I simply cannot tell if I’ve stepped in a too odd way and snapped my lyrical ankle.

But two chapters got done. High word count was added. High body count was also added. Minds warped. Worlds changed. Ta fucking da!

Words written today: 462
Total for 2017: 51,538

KINGDOM
Revision today: 2 chapters
Revision total: 72 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 122,770 (+13,918 since first draft)

Leave a comment