Day 137: May 16, 2017

Some days I want to throw this whole thing in a heap and forget about it. Fortunately, today was not one of those days. The “climax”, true and complete, is almost here. Reading it all again for the first time since the drafting has been a surreal experience. While I have changed much, the original story is strange, wonderful, and frankly weird.

There are pieces, tangential bits of world building, that I’ve decided not to explain. It will mean a lot to the reader, I think, because they say things about our world that the characters would know nothing about.

I’ve enjoyed coming back into this story. Honestly, I’m looking to reading through it from start to finish soon for the last revision. I have good feedback from other readers and from Sione Aeschliman. I have a long list of notes to address and am excited about them too. It’s a long Memorial Day weekend this weekend, but I will mostly be indoors working on this. (My family is away for a trip, so I am alone for four glorious days. I will be drinking beer and writing. Joy!)

One downside: the word still continues to creep upward. Sigh. I have in my revision notes at least ten times to reduce word count by at least 10,000. I might not make that mark.

Words written today: 238
Total for 2017: 51,076

KINGDOM
Revision today: 1 chapters
Revision total: 70 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 122,308 (+13,456 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

