Day 122: May 1, 2017

Foreshadowing: this week’s posts are going to be much more positive.

Things are starting to really come together. I’m ironing out the plot difficulties in Act 3. What had been so distressing the last few weeks doesn’t seem so bad now. I still have a few more issues to plow through and, while there’s at least one that is still an exposition mess, I think I’ve got it mostly figured out. Largely I’m going to leave some explanation out of the final story. On the last revision, I’ll see if it all still works. But I’m thinking so.

As I go now, I spend a lot of time jumping around. I’m supposed to work with a professional editor on Part I, also Act 1, next week, so I’ve been trying to get through that. I am mostly pleased with it and think it is in final form. We’ll have to see what she thinks. I am also preparing the manuscript for its final form. I’ve decided on a chapter naming scheme, so have been changing those haphazardly. Since the cadence of the chapters is alternating POV between Daron and Aubrey, it makes sense to me to have each chapter be “This and That” with This relating to Daron’s part and That relating to Aubrey’s part. I should have thought of this earlier. There will be 41 chapters then. I am considering making the 41st chapter an epilog, but that seems a silly game of semantics.

I didn’t actually do any new chapter edits today, but I got a lot of the above-referenced work done. Many chapter names were done and many of the sub-chapters (the revision totals noted below) were merged to their final form. (So below, the final number will equal 82 chapters, but the final form will have 41. See how I made it look so much more impressive?)

I will document as I work with the pro editor on that process. I hope I’m not disappointed. I’ll find out if she wants to share her name, etc.

Words written today: 0
Total for 2017: 49,257

KINGDOM
Revision today: 0 chapters
Revision total: 60 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 120,490 (+11,850 since first draft)

Leave a Reply

