Day 96: April 5, 2017

During my conference layoff, I did some math in my head. Somewhere I got off counting the chapters I’ve edited. I don’t know when or how, but I’m actually up to 45 chapters with today’s work. I’m a fucking writer, not an accountant.

Anyway, bonus! I mean, maybe not, since I knew how far along I was, this isn’t a revelation about the actual work. Anyone reading this probably doesn’t care either, about these prickly details anyway. So, I’m up to (not yet compiled) chapter 44, with that bonus chapter when I accidentally skipped ahead. I’m rolling along.

I had forgotten that all of part five, ten chapters, covers basically a twenty-four hour period. I sort of remember when I wrote it having a great reason for that. I don’t remember that reason though now. Still, as I work through it, there’s an emotional strength I still think works. An editor could probably prod, with some irritation, and make me rethink that, but there is a transformation that happens that, to me, is the core of the book. Does it take on a wholly different cadence than the rest of the book? Yeah, sure. But if it works, it works.

So, some solid editing work I thought today, after so much time off. My head was clear, my writing crisp. Huzzah and all that.

Words written today: 1,288
Total for 2017: 45,282

KINGDOM
Revision today: 3 chapters
Revision total: 45 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 116,515 (+7,875)

Leave a Reply

