Day 61: March 2, 2017

About the same progress today: 2 chapters. My word count keeps going up, which is odd. Usually during revision, I cut out more than I touch up or add. This project has been different from the start, though.

This will be my third complete novel and maybe the most polished. I’m proud of the other two, but the first has flaws that are glaring to me. I’m sure to others as well. But there’s a good story buried there. My second novel is more solid but also suffers from amateurish writing in spots. Simple things like run-on descriptions and losing track of character and motivations.

KINGDOM, while eventually judged by others, for me is solid, or at the very least a step in the right direction for my evolution as a writer. It’s becoming easier for me to find the words, to feel intuitively where the story should go.

I enjoy this story too. I hope upcoming chapters hold true, though I already know where an aggravating plot hole will arrive. I think I have a solution but will have to see when it’s written.

Words written today: 208
Total for 2017: 32,598

KINGDOM
Revision today: 2 chapters
Revision total: 12 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 110,236 (+2,073)

Leave a Reply

