Day 60: March 1, 2017

Two more chapters revised. Not sure how man final pages that would be, but I’m guessing  over 100. Also, I should clarify that each of these chapters will almost certainly be combined in pairs. So 12 chapters will be 6 in the final manuscript compile.

I’m happy with the story. The MCs, the alternating POVs, the cadence and tone of it all feel right. I think my writing has improved: sentence variation, keeping dialogue simple (no adverbs!), strengthening character, all strong I think. Whether the story itself will generate interest, that is the harder question.

I’ve had to, necessarily, start thinking about how I’m going to pitch and query for this book. I need to consolidate my genre terms: dark fantasy, western fantasy, low fantasy. dark, western, low fantasy? If there is a tiny, though monumental element of scifi, how, or should, I include that? Ugh. I’m not much for writing query letters. I have, though, this time, spent more organic time researching agents. Follow them on Twitter, track the books they rep, read some of them. I will do a better job with targeted marketing this time, and not shotgun.

Words written today: 105
Total for 2017: 32,495

KINGDOM
Revision today: 2 chapters
Revision total: 10 chapters
Total words for this manuscript: 110,133 (+1,970)

Leave a Reply

