Day 47: February 16, 2017

My step-father was advised today to stop dialysis and allow hospice to care for him at home. We are all adjusting to the news. 

He has taken the opportunity to call in people for private conversations and get some things off his chest. He had a bombshell for me that, honestly, impacts the entire journey of my life. 

Secrets are odd and wondrous things. They can hide invisible for years, sometimes never discovered at all, and sometimes poking into the light at the most ironic moments. I have read about deathbed confessions, but never heard one, much less been the focus of one. 

I have to process all this. Partly, I will retreat into writing; I will hide in some respects. KINGDOM was already about some heavy themes, and now in revision they will likely get heavier. 

NO WRITING UPDATE

Leave a Reply

