Day 33: February 2, 2017

Half a chapter left. I’m kind of sad and may take the weekend off. I almost need time to grieve. These characters have occupied my thoughts for months. My last few novels had many despicable people that populated them. Curiosity better describes my feeling about them; sometimes hate. Interesting, for sure, in what they went through, but not like this.

The process of writing, to me, is growth. Each word is an act of discovery. Words beget sentences. Sentences beget paragraphs. Paragraphs beget stories. Stories beget characters. I expect each new of these to be better than before.

Enjoy the journey, that’s what I mean to say. The act of discovery is mesmerizing. It’s a drug, and I am addicted.

I wrote about 1,600 words today. It might be that many or more and I’ll be done. But I do need time to process, so will ponder things for a few days. I might have a celebratory drink this weekend. More than one, as celebration turns into melancholy.

Words written today: 1,579
Total for this manuscript: 106,800
Total for 2017: 27,871

Leave a Reply

