Day 31: January 31, 2017

My penultimate scene strangely mirrors my writing. The main characters have come to the end of a long journey and find themselves in darkness. Something waits ahead, something unknown and maybe dreadful. Maybe wonderful. Maybe, as is often the case, both.

I know it sounds overly symbolic. It’s entirely possible my subconscious mind is taking too much control. But this feels like the story that needs to be told and the ending that needs to happen.  I had an epiphany as I wrote the scene about what they would find at the end of this dark tunnel. It caused an explosion in my head that will reverberate for quite a while. As I alluded above, I’m not sure if this discovery the find–that I’ve found–is wonderful or dreadful or both. That will depend entirely on the last scene, which I’m still mulling over.

I love to write exactly for this kind of thing. This book started as something else entirely, a journey of two people after a tragedy, one seeking revenge and the other compelled by love. Those elements are still strong, and an underlying theme about the nature of man’s relationship to god or at last the concept of god was always there. It has simply transformed as their journey came to life. All writers understand this, I know. But this story, in particular, has affected me in the way so much symbolism and the particulars of the journey were written by my subconscious.

It is when we, as writers, become readers of our own story, even as its written, that binds us to write. If I were a better writer, I could explain the feeling in more elaborate prose.

I wrote about 1,600 words today and almost finished chapter 44. I’ll finish that chapter tomorrow and likely start the last chapter.

Words written today: 1,556
Total for this manuscript: 103,709
Total for 2017: 24,780

Leave a Reply

