Day 24: January 24, 2017

I took a risk today. Some tangential idea popped into my head as I was thinking through the last few chapters of the book. It expands on a central theme, but I’m not sure if it will be a jarring experience for the reader. A kind of thing maybe some would love and some would hate.

I’ve been told before in writing classes and other sorts of writer clusters that once you’ve made it, then you can take chances, try experiments. Though I haven’t “made it” and could be entirely wrong, I disagree. I likely could write straight-ahead hgenre fiction and increase my odds of being published, finding success, those kinds of things. But it just doesn’t interest me.

We’ll see. I’ll be done soon and will start editing. By the time I get to the end of the book in a month or more, I’ll have forgotten what led me to the tangent. I’ll decide then if it works. If not, then I’ll have to write a whole new ending.

Yay!

I finished half of chapter 42. Got on a roll with that piece of tangent writing, after having struggled for about 700 words, I finished near 1,600. The end is in sight.

Words written today: 1,537
Total for this manuscript: 98,788
Total for 2017: 17,980

Leave a Reply

