Day 21: January 21, 2017

Millions of people around the world marched today to protest the presidency of Donald Trump. The man is a narcissist and liar. What bothers most is how this miserable sociopath has defenders? I understand, but not totally, the shills he pays to do his bidding. The Kellyanne Conways and Sean Spicers. But the public who support him? What are they thinking?

It’s a distraction and an energy. I feel it churning in my head, the desire to say something about it. To write. To show how fragile freedom is, how an anti intellectual cancer can degrade our ability to discern truth from fraud. 

All of this weighs heavily on me. The ugliness of it bled into my writing today, may have altered the ending of the book. I can’t tell. I am obsessing about this, like I do sometimes with this illness. Writing helps anyway. 

I got a little over 500 words, halfway through chapter 41. Tomorrow maybe I’ll write more. I don’t know. I’m starting to feel depressed. 

Leave a Reply

